A Very Bunny Existence

Life with a husband and 3 bunnies.

Quite a Bit of Bunny Goings On

on November 23, 2012

There’s been quite a bit going on in our very bunny household!

 

Monday evening, right before heading to bed, I got into Nibbles’ pen to pet him for a few minutes.  He was very non-responsive, which was odd.  He refused anything I offered:  hay, water, veggies, even treats.  He didn’t look so good and his ears were very cold.  For the next two hours, we tried to make him comfy and offered him as many different food options as we could think of.  He wouldn’t take any of it.  I finally gave him some anti-gas meds and hoped for the best.  The next morning, he ate some pellets, but had obviously not eaten any hay overnight.  Matt watched him throughout the day and he just seemed very lethargic, although he was picking at some hay and was pooping some.  Since he wasn’t getting any worse, we decided to forgo the vet and keep monitoring him.  By Wednesday he seemed to be almost back to normal.  That afternoon I noticed a BUNCH of strung together poops in his litter box.  I think he was a bit constipated from excess hair in his system.  I brushed him for awhile in the tub and got a lot of hair off him.  I knew he was shedding, but I didn’t think it was quite as bad as it was.  I feel bad that we let it go and it nearly made him ill!  I’m glad he pulled through okay and we didn’t have to drive him up to the vet’s office.

 

Today I cleaned out the bunny pens.  They don’t like this at all because the vacuum is awfully loud and it’s on for awhile.  Usually when I clean out Junie and Crispin’s area I shut them out of the main pen (which they hate) and leave them in their run around area.  This morning they both looked like they were going to either try jumping up on top of the pen or where going to try to break back into the pen.  I finally locked them both in the carrier (which they hated even more) while I finished cleaning.  I peaked in at one point and saw this:

 

 

Poor widdle bunnies!!

After I was finished I let them out and back into the main pen.  And gave them treats to make up for all the horribleness I had placed in their lives.  Then it was Nibbles’ turn.

I lured him out of his pen and into the living room with a raisin, then locked him out.  He was very confused and upset with this.

“Let me back in!!”

After I was finished with his pen, I opened the gate back up.  Nibbles was nowhere to be found.  Finally, I spotted him hiding under the table:

Scaredy-bun.

Treats were given and all was okay again.  Their eventful morning made Junie very sleepy.  Junie was flopped over several times and even let me take pictures!  Usually if she hears you, she’ll pop up again, but she stayed still while I snapped these:

AND THEN.  Later.  I got this on video:

You never know when they’re going to do it, so I was excited she flopped while I was filming!  I think flopping is my favorite thing bunnies do 🙂


3 responses to “Quite a Bit of Bunny Goings On

  1. Elise says:

    Aww, that’s cute!

  2. the bunns says:

    Busy time for the bunns. We use a shop vac – I think it is quicker.

  3. Emily says:

    What’s the name of the music you’ve playing in the video of Junie’s flop?

Say "hey" to the bunnies here: