A Very Bunny Existence

Life with a husband and 3 bunnies.

Nibbles and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

on September 10, 2012

…yes, I teach primary age students.  Why do you ask?
[Everyone should read this book if you haven’t…just sayin’.]

 

Anyway, the bunnies had a very bad day.  Nibbles has had the worst day.  It started pleasantly enough, but soon, they were stuffed into carriers, loaded into the car, and driven to…

 

the vet.

 

Just to get their nails clipped.  But still.  The torture…TOR-CHAAAAA!!!!

Anyway.

Upon returning home, the bunnies were set free in their homes and Matt went off to work.  When he returned that afternoon, he found our apartment had been invaded by a maintenance crew.  Their loud knocking, banging, and fixing had clearly disturbed the bunnies.  I received this little snippet of their afternoon from Matt in an email:

“Maintenance guys are outside fixing the outside of the living room windows and they are inside taking care of a crack in the ceiling right now.  Needless to say, the bunnies have had a rather rough day so far.  I had let them out when I got home, but I had to heard them back inside when they came around to do the ceiling.  Junie had been hiding in the tunnel.  Poor thing–when I slid her out of the tunnel she bolted for the door of the cage.  Problem was that I’d closed it behind Crisipin already.  Fortunately I had only put 1 clip on it, so she crashed right through the door and hid in the back corner.  Poor buns.”

When I got home, petting and snuggles abounded and all seemed well.  At least it was for Crispin and Junie.  But, oh Nibbles.  He had more coming…

Nibbles started shedding a couple weeks ago and it’s gotten really bad.  Sometimes bunnies have a light shed and other times it’s very heavy.  Nibbles is in the middle of a HEAVY shed.  So we’ve been having frequent tub dates so I can brush him clean of all the loose fur.  After his tough day, I thought we would be okay to skip a night.  But as I was petting him and mounds of hair was coming off every which way, I knew we had to have our little date.  I dragged him into the tub and started combing.  Poor boy.  His coat looks awful!

Once I returned him to his house, he THUMPED at me to demand his traditional after-grooming treat.  He had already had several treats earlier in the day for the other injustices that had befallen him, but I couldn’t say no.  I gave him a small papaya tablet, which he gladly took.  He must not have been too angry because shortly after that he licked my pants.

On the up side (for me, not really for Nibbles), he has been much more willing to be picked up the last two nights.  Usually I have to chase him around his pen, cover his eyes with my hand (which he tries to buck off), and generally wear him down before he’ll give me a brief chance to grab him.  Yesterday and today, though, I just had to cover his eyes and he let me pick him up with no running and chasing!  A very pleasing development!  Let’s hope this continues.

Say "hey" to the bunnies here:

