A Very Bunny Existence

Life with a husband and 3 bunnies.

A Bunny (Nearly) Escapes and Several Cute Pictures

on August 18, 2012

The time:  6:15 a.m. on Saturday morning.
The place:  our living room.
The people:  just me.
The reason:  restless night of sleep and the need for a tissue.
What happened:  In what was just supposed to be a quick trip out to the living room for a tissue, I witnessed Nibbles do something he’s never done before.  I went over to his cage and said “hello.”  He stood up on his back feet and JUMPED up onto the top of Crispin and Junie’s pen.  In this old picture, you can see where he jumped up to:

The two panels to the right of Junie is what he hopped onto.

Now, thankfully, Crispin and Junie’s pen is totally enclosed on the top (otherwise, they’d be jumping out).  If it wasn’t, Nibbles would have been able to get into their space and that would have meant a lot of flying fur and bloody noses, no doubt.

Anyway, I quickly covered Nibbles’ eyes while I tried to think what to do.  I knew if I tried to pick him up, he would try to scramble away from me and I didn’t want his feet to get caught in the panel spaces.  He started jerking his head around trying to get my hand off.  I decided to let go since he was getting agitated.  He quickly spun around and hopped back down into his pen.  I gave him food to distract him while I went to get Matt.  So much for sleeping in on Saturday…

We had two spare panels, so they’re now installed to make Nibbles’ pen three panels high:

new panels

He hasn’t tried to jump it again, but he has gone up on his back legs to check it out.  Hopefully this will deter any further escape attempts.

N escapeThe newest escape artist.

He’s never tried to jump over his pen before, so we never put extra panel height on it.  I always thought he could jump it if he wanted to, but I figured he just wasn’t the jumping type.  Apparently now he is.  *sigh*

Anyway, here are several pictures I took over the last few days that don’t really have a story behind them…they’re just cute.

N wetRemember how Nibbles likes to lick the sheets?  He’s still at it.

Why go around when I can go over?

Crispin doesn’t seem to mind.

Say "hey" to the bunnies here:

